Some Plov, A Book, No Beer: A Day in a Read State (8)

It’s Kurdish holiday leftover cater-in day at Lincoln, Nebraska’s Center For People In Need, and I’m already well into my second plate of sawar pilaf – I’m not even sure if that’s the right name of this meal; there’s a pounded, husked grain present in the dish that is almost indistinguishable from bulgur in this context, there’s mildly spiced baked chicken, there are almonds, apricots, raisins, vermicelli noodles buried in that pile pictured above – somewhere, somewhere.

Needless to say, I’m just ploving through whatever’s left in the staff kitchen. I’ve been a bit rude about it, I fear – I really should thank the chef and express my appreciation, but I’m just going to sit here and liveblog clandestinely from a breakout room adjacent to my cubicle.

The one with the nomad whalesongs seeping through the slightly ajar door.

That’s me, and I’ll keep a plate of skronky rice and mashed grain for you in my desk drawer if you can make it down here before 5 pm, Central Standard Time.

 


I’m not very well versed in classic Hollywood (though my appreciation for film is generally strong, it tends to skew in obsessive, probably particularly troubling, non-inclusive ways – Godard, Sam Fuller, Fassbinder…), nor do I read many memoirs, so this is a bit of a challenge to blog about on the fly. A good challenge, in any case. I spend most of this blog writing about what I know, so why not invert the formula?

I do know, and perhaps you as well, that Spencer Tracy and Katharine Hepburn starred in a total of nine films together over the middle quarter of the twentieth century. Many of these films were or have lately come to be considered classics in many genres. DESK SET is the only film I’ve come within radiative distance of watching – about a television network reference librarian (Hepburn) who matches wits with an efficiency expert Richard Sumner (Tracy) hired to oversee part of a proposed network merger. Tracy’s “electronic brains” (computers, modernsters!) naturally ruffle a few feathers, not the least of which are Bunny Watson’s (Hepburn). The script, written by the elder Ephrons (Phoebe and Harry, parents to Nora), has received tremendous praise over the years, and the film glows with a golden 100% on Rotten Tomatoes.

Perhaps I’ll watch it one day. Really, it sounds perfectly swell if not wryly precocious. Several friends have already offered to host viewing parties, I can attest.

I can only hope that this film, and many others (canon and not), will one day be objects of my gaze and entertainment. Maybe tonight I’ll surprise myself and exercise my obnoxiously self-avowed catholic tastes.


The book here, written by Garson Kanin (something of a showbiz phenomenon himself), was the result and reflection of a cozy friendship with both actors.

photo (7).JPG
Tracy and Hepburn by Garson Kanin (The Viking Press, 1970.)

I’d like to bring you a passage, one of many found in this book, that air a particularly strong musk of bromance between Kanin and Tracy. Or if not bromance, some kind of intimate, discursively expressive relationship that I’m not equipped or observant enough to ply. Read on:

photo 1 (4)
Not too far away from your props, hm?
photo 2 (5)
Rebel; waist down : bourgeois; all his things
photo 3 (2)
Let’s not intellectualize the man’s craft…
photo 4 (2)
Fairly certain my grandmother prescribed the same for me for an earache.
photo 5
Exeunt raconteur anecdotalist and his close-lipped subject.
7 thoughts on “Some Plov, A Book, No Beer: A Day in a Read State (8)

      1. I moved away from home and I don’t wanna risk trying to make plov 😛 what if I end up not liking it??! Haha I need to hunt down a local restaurant that has it somewhere

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ohhh, gotcha – and just out of curiosity, where is “home” for you? I don’t mean to pry, I’m just quite curious – there are so many regional variations to plov, and I feel as though I write (and eat) about it with enough frequency to start a mini-blog about mixed rice plates alone. 🙂 I had some of the best plov in my life in Azerbaijan…Miss it there!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Home is several places for me but essentially Mauritius! We have a lot of influences from everywhere so food gets quite interesting haha
        Aha I think a blog about mixed rice plates would be absolutely delicious 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      4. THIS looks ridiculously tasty! Haha I remember my mum learnt how to make pulao from her pakistani friend and she was so excited!
        I’m gonna give your recipe a try! 😀
        Gosh you have no idea – i love when people ask me where I’m from or more details about my culture and influences. I’m always like “yeaaahhhh about that …”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

